Photo

Stairway to Heaven

Stairway to Heaven. Vernon, NJ
Stairway to Heaven. Vernon, NJ

 

The “Stairway to Heaven” is part of the Appalachian Trail, in the northern New Jersey area, where the trail begins in Georgia and ends in Maine. What a beauty, eh?

Normally, I just don’t wake up in the morning and say, “Let’s go hiking!” My friend from school hikes ALOT and asked me to come with her for Memorial Day. I had to think about it but I was like “Sure, why the hell not.” First off, I wore my Chacos, which was the unwisest thing I did that day. If you are not a hiker, like me, I advise you to take closed toe shoes. Part of the hike, was boardwalks, a suspension bridge (above), hardwood forest, fields of wildflowers, train tracks, a cow pasture, a boulder field.

The day after, my insides and feet were burning. But irregardless, I am glad that I went. The trail is spectacularly beautiful and the weather was perfect. And just in case you are wondering, I made it about half way to Pinwheel Vista. I’m sure my friend could have gone further but one look at me and she must have decided it was better to stick with me and make sure I didn’t fall. Which I don’t blame because I am notorious for falling. Case in point, during winter vacation, my family and walked/climbed Peña de Bernal, Queretaro and I fell er tumbled for like four seconds.

Any who, please enjoy the snapshot. The bridge was really cool because if you stand still and have people walk on it, you can feel the bridge gently sway.

Leave a Reply

