Blog · Professional

I am a UNA-USA Social Good Summit Blogger Fellow

via Mashable
via Mashable

I have been selected as one of the first-ever Social Good Summit Blogger Fellows on behalf of UNA-USA to blog the Social Good Summit in New York City from September 21-22, 2014. YAY, I am so excited to share this opportunity with y’all!

The Social Good Summit is a two-day conference examining the impact of technology and new media on social good initiatives around the world. Held during UN Week from September 21 to 22, the Social Good Summit unites a dynamic community of global leaders and grassroots activists to discuss solutions for the greatest challenges of our time. The 2014 theme, #2030NOW: Connecting for Good, Connecting for All, asks the question, “What type of world do I want to live in by the year 2030?”

I believe blogging at the Social Good Summit will give me an invaluable awareness of the various perspectives and factors at play when attempting to address global emergencies. In addition, working with multi-cultural teams will give me further insight into how the international community works together on a professional level towards seeking global solutions. Coming from a small conservative town in Texas, I want to let little girls from around the world and especially my hometown, the importance of working hard to achieve equal rights and protections for women everywhere. I come from a family where women have been brought up to stay in the kitchen and think of nothing but to please the men of the family on every whim. I want to become a member of a huge global network speaking on women’s issues where my voice will be heard via my words and guidance. I will spread the UN’s good work, ideas and initiatives to give women choices for a better life. As a Blogger Fellow, I will not be afraid to write what is right for women to my audience via my own experiences and narrative.

I’d like to thank UNA-USA for the opportunity and look forward to writing about the summit and spreading awareness concerning global emergencies. In addition, I also want to thank Dr. Martin S Edwards, my graduate professor from Seton Hall University. For my application’s writing sample, I submitted the blog post Dr. Edwards kindly asked me to write for the Center for UN and Global Governance Studies over the 5 Highlights of the Global Forum on Responsible Business Conduct. Thank you for asking me to write the post, as I believe it helped me become selected.

I am beyond thrilled at this opportunity and hope y’all will tune in with me! As I know more information, I will be sure to keep everyone updated #2030Now

Leave a Reply

