Blog · My Reads

Book Review: A Handmaid’s Tale

My tribute for #BannedBooksWeek

I remember reading this in high school and the impact it had on me.

In my eyes, this novel portrays a possibly terrifying dystopia. At first, it was difficult for me to tell what exactly is going on in the world because the narration is filled with a sense of fear and danger. I was desperate to figure out what was happening and why things had gone so wrong in the future, especially for women. The story progresses beautifully, as the details of the present unravel at the same time and with the same urgency as the events of the past.

As an eighteen year old, not yet familiar with the outside, I was frightened upon understanding the world where women are stripped of their freedom and defined by their sole purpose as either a wife (Wife), womb (Handmaid), servant (Martha), prostitute (Jezebel), or propagandists (Aunt). Those who refuse these roles are stripped of the title of woman, being referred to as unwomen, and sent to colonies to do manual labor. It was hard to imagine a future where the roles of the women are reduced and they are no longer allowed to read, work, own property, or handle money.

As you can imagine, I was tremendously terrified by this book. As a modern gal, I am still horrified by the notion that at some point in time, women can evolve into nothing more than an objective, property and a reproductive organ. This fictional world created by Margaret Atwood almost seems foreign and impossible at a glance, but if you turn your attention towards the Middle East and African regions, how can you ignore the similarities?

Because of this book, I have put a lot of thought into the sort of person I want to become. I do not want to lose my rights as a human being and I want to help girls around the world fulfill their dreams and ambitions. I am saving my personal copy of this book for the girls in my family. I hope one day we can have a conversation about their potential and the good they can do.

Recommend the book to a loved one:

via Amazon
Leave a Reply

