Blog, Lifestyle

2k14 Year-End Review

It’s time for that roundup post y’all. I want to thank all my wonderful readers, whom without y’all, I wouldn’t have had the nerve to write about some amazing opportunities through my blog. Y’ALL ROCK!

❤ Thank you for being on this wild ride with me, I’m looking forward to another great year!

Because I read and wrote a lot during my (fun)employment.

Best Things I Wrote About in 2014:
Five Take-aways of the OECD’s Global Forum on Responsible Business Conduct. My Social Media Summit 2014 Highlights: Drones Connecting the World; Year of the Female Voice and Using Skype to Globally Connect Classrooms. View more of my writing samples here.

Interesting Year-End Roundups:
The best longform writing. The best books and good nonfiction by mostly women (currently shelved for next year). Various writers on their year in reading. The year in Shonda Rhimes (bow down). 10 refreshing moments and 10 good things to be happy about. A pretty good year for government. The year in outrage and weed. Best podcast episodes ever. Memes of 2014.

Best Short Stories/Books I Read in 2014:
Short Stories: Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wall-Paper. Italo Clavino’s All at One Point. Juno Diaz’s Drown. Margaret Atwood’s Rape Fantasies. Tobias Wolff’s The Night in Question. Jorge Luis Borges’s Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius. Ernest Hemingway’s Hills Like White Elephants. J.D. Salinger’s A Perfect Day for Bananafish.  Books: Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Namesake. Haruki Murakami’s The Wind Up Bird Chronicle. Liz Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love. George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings.

Personal Bests of 2014:
Best thing I did this year: Graduated with my Master’s
Best thing I stopped talking about and actually did this year: Download and listened to a podcast
Best things I applied to: UNA’s Social Blogger Fellowship and NASA Social at Goddard
Best self-indulgent thing I chose not to tweet this year: “Cinnabons, Cinnabons, Cinnabons. Marry me?”
Best thing I smelled this year: Winter Vanilla Latte lotion
Best recipe I perfected this year: Pumpkin bread
Best gif depiction of me this year: I am Woman, Hear Me ROAR

My Collective 2015 To-Do List:
– Learn how to talk like a TV pundit (thinking about next year’s Halloween costume).
– Check my credit score. Pay off student loans.
– Run a marathon (like a 5k). Or just run outside.
– Frame and hang COOL pieces of art.
– Buy myself a diva wine glass.
– Figure out iPhone, storage and cloud issues.
– Sell clothes to consignment and donate knick knacks.
– Attempt to drink and actually enjoy coffee (without too much sugar).
– Write more. Be bold.

Leave a Reply

